My Route 1 News Paper Article, For My Dear, Homeless Friend Has Raised $3,250.00 Toward Her Shelter For This Winter!

This is my article that was printed in The Princeton, NJ US1 Newspaper on September 28, 2011. The name of my article, “When Home Falls Between the Cracks”. Please click on the line below to view my article.

http://princetoninfo.com/index.php?option=com_us1more&Itemid=6&key=9-28-11housing

The newest article is my letter to the Editor: Called, Homeless Update:

http://princetoninfo.com/index.php?option=com_us1more&Itemid=6&key=11-30-11btl

I met Miss H.  four years ago. She lives outside at a location I will not disclose. She lives there from spring until winter, for the past 20 years she has lived outside. She is around 68 years old.  She is mildly Schizophrenic. She will not take medication, period. Her family wants nothing to do with her. Please know about Schizophrenic people before you say what she should do or anything for that matter. This is the facts, she is homeless and frankly better off on the streets of Princeton, NJ than Trenton, NJ where the junkies and people who would harm her at the shelters there. The only other place they would put her is a mental institution. Have any of you been there or saw one???? We are working with what works for her, not forcing our will on her because that will not work.

I have cared for her along with a husband and wife and another single women like myself. I have a failed fusion in my neck  from a  2008 car accident,  being in pain now since 2007 has been a night mare for me and helping Miss H. takes me out of my self.  If I can do this along with all the other things I have to do, you can help too. I am asking people to do a some fund-raising for me or contribute to my fund raiser on face book or send a check to the Post Box mentioned on the video and in the Route 1 News article.

The women who has been paying for Miss H. (my little homeless lady) will not be paying for her hotels anymore in the coming winters. I can’t blame her she has done a lot for 5 years or more, it looks like it is my turn now and my hopes your as well.  Please set up a collection box in your office you can copy and paste her picture from here or ask me for a copy.  She feels safe in hotels as long as there is an out side entrance and it is near Princeton, NJ, she feels safe here.

 I need to raise at least $3,000.00 by December. That would be rent for December Thru  April/May. The hotel she did stay in was flooded so, I have to start looking now. I am in hopes that they have every thing up and running so she can go back there. I will pay what ever is not donated. I will not have her outside in the bitter cold. Please, I need all of your help. Miss H. worked hard for many, many years and was not always ill.  She deserves help, love, compassion and kindness as we all do. Please help me to help her!

Thank you, Suzanne Newman

Please click on story (The Blue High Lighted Area)above to donate to the Facebook fundraiser if you prefer to donate through PayPal. Then click on the Facebook logo to get to the donation page.

3 thoughts on “My Route 1 News Paper Article, For My Dear, Homeless Friend Has Raised $3,250.00 Toward Her Shelter For This Winter!

  1. I received almost 1,000.00 to help Miss H. To have a hotel for this coming winter. Please keep the checks coming I need at least 2,000.00 more. I am still contacting so called homeless agencies and no help yet. Please go to: http://www.princetoninfo.com/index.php?option=com_us1archive&Itemid=6&c=8

    Then Please click on US1 Home. The Title of my article is, When Home Falls Between the Cracks. When you go to the link below please go to… September 28, 2011 “Interchange” When Home Falls Between the Cracks. Thank you so very, very much! Please donate! Please!

    Suzanne Newman

    1. Miss H is in the Hotel As of this past week. I went to bring her things 12/17/2011. We had fun in her room and she loved what I brought her. There will soon be another update in US1 New Paper In Princeton, NJ 08540

Leave a Reply

