A massage for your mind.

This might seem not to be about massage therapy, but I look at massage therapy as prevention from ill health. In Chinese medicine, we do not separate ourselves from the environment like we do in Western medicine. What I mean by this is the earth is made up of five elements, Wood, Metal, Fire, Water and Earth. These elements are within the body, but we continue to separate ourselves from nature more and more. I am not going to get into to much of five elements of Chinese medicine. If you’re interested in that, please feel free to do some research on it. I’m sure you’ll find it amazing.

Why I bring up the five elements of Chinese medicine is when we are out of balance with nature we become as unhealthy as our surroundings. Example, the bodies of waters of the world are getting more and more polluted. The body of water inside our body is the kidneys and Bladder. The reason I bring up this element is because there is a taste, a smell, an emotion and the negative feeling   is FEAR to the water element, Now you say, what does this have to do with massage.

Well, I’ll try to simplify it for you. The world as a whole is finally hitting the bottom. I hope for our sakes this is it. For years we have looked at the government as the mommy and daddy. We never question them why? They’ll take care of us, no questions asked. Are any of you really surprised that we are where we are today? Did everyone think that they could just go about their business focusing selfishly without any foresight on what was and is going on? Now, panic and fear mode, which accomplishes nothing. We are all responsible for the environmental, economical and financial mess we are in.

Then healthcare. I should really say our lack there of heath care. We never, ever question the doctor, after all it is so much easier to be the victim of our ill health. How could this have happened to me? I watch TV, it informs me of the medications that I should take to solve all my problem. It tells me all about the healthy foods from the fast food joints, to the prepared food, to the white flour to the sugar blah blah blah blah blah.

Well, I my friends am fed up with the ignorance of lazy, unmotivated, selfish people. I tell my clients the truth. I am not here to fix anyone. I am here to help you to heal, to give you information and your on your own. The people that come to me thinking I’m going to put a Band-Aid on them I will not continue seeing.

We need to teach ourselves to focus on finding the solution. Blame never brings about change. Taking responsibility for the parts you play in every relationship as well as removing yourselves from the ones that are unhealthy, is our responsibility.

The problems we have manifested will take time to solve. Taking responsibility for changing our health will take time as well. The most important part is to take charge of the thoughts we think, the way we look at each day and most important, the way we treat and talk to others. That my friend is really all we have control over.

Again, how does this tie into massage therapy? You have one body, one mind, and plenty of healing to do. I can offer massage therapy that helps you reconnect to your body even if it’s only for an hour. It takes stress to bring about change. Stress will always be in our lives. It does lodge itself in our bodies. It’s what we do with it and again I offer a solution through massage therapy.

I only hope that all of us can have a shift in our thinking and open our minds to healing ourselves. A ripple effect will happen if we as a whole get on a path of healing. It’s funny, I am not a religious person but, I am spiritual. I also have attention deficit disorder, so remembering things doesn’t come easy to me. It does strike me as unusual that the one thing that I do know by heart, is the Lord’s Prayer and massage therapy. I know with out one doubt massage works and I believe we can have a heaven here on earth.

3 thoughts on “A massage for your mind.

  1. I understand that you have your gripes about the commitment of your clients to try to heal themselves: That your skills are just part of the solution. However, sometimes the reason why people tend to either slack off or altogether forget to stretch a little longer before physical activity. I am guilty of this myself. I go to the gym and work myself to a pulp…sometimes stretching out a muscle here, over-extending my ankle, etc. It’s because of this that we go to massage therapist. My therapist in New York (near my job) helps me immensely and is glad to see me come weekly. You help us: We appreciate it. We, in turn, help you by coming back time and time again. That has to account for something, right?

    1. Your misunderstanding what I am trying to say. You, are doing all the right things. My clients are the best! They are because they want to be with their health. They each have different degrees of personal bests! I am not talking about people that skip a day at the gym and I am not the Soup Natzi from Seinfeld! I feel passionate about the lack of people listening to their bodies and making Doctor’s Gods. Taking a pill to get better instead of practicing prevention. I need to get information out there to people so they understand the importance of prevention. It’s not about working yourself to a pulp it is about self care. Keep up your good work, keep getting your massages and be gentle with yourself when your doing it. I am sorry you misunderstood me. and I hope this made what I was saying clearer to you. Have a great weekend!

      Warm Regards, Suzanne Newman

  2. Hi, No, I like snakes but, don’t drink their wine. Good Liquid Vitamins are great and some acuputurists specialize in herbs. Just watch herbs from china. There crops are sprayed and lead is in and on eveything, as I hope you know this a big issue there.

Leave a Reply

