About Your Massage Therapist And What They Should Know Too.

  Massage Therapy has been my passion for going on 14 years. I’d like to give a few pointers on what I have seen and felt from the massage therapy that I’ve received. Please this is based on what my body needs from a massage therapy.  I believe there are many different types of bodywork but, I think the one that is used most frequently is Massage Therapy.  The clients that are getting massages need to know the difference between spa and gym massages and therapeutic/deep tissue massage in order to know what type of massage to get.  I consider myself some what an athlete; deep tissue massage is a must for me.  My frustration in most of the massages that I have received and I say this in order to help other massage therapists. There is a lack of proper body mechanics, to correct this issue is by keeping the wrists and arms aligned properly and also the proper body stance. Self assurance shows in the strength in massage therapist’s hands and a confident touch. Strong hands are incredibly important not only to give the work that is needed for athletes but, also to prevent injury for your selves. Push ups help. Yoga is another great hand strengthener. There is also lifting weights, squeezing tennis balls or grippers.

 I see a lack of   knowledge also in how to release the muscles that are tight on clients. That is my major complaint with all the massages I have received. It has also been a complaint of new clients coming to me. Trigger point work is very easy to learn and is needed for everyone. I use it on every client. I explain to my clients when you work out you are sore the next day.  In the same respect that’s what happens with a good massage at times. You are a little sore the next day. This is not a bad thing! This means that lactic acid and adhesions have been broken up. Blood is flowing in area’s that where once tight.  I also tell my clients you may be a little sore the next day but, the following day you’ll feel great. I base this on the great reviews I get and the great tips! What makes an excellent Massage Therapist is taking care of yourself; understanding your client’s body and gearing that massage session to their needs.

There is a need I’m sure for more superficial massages.  What I mean by this is a lighter touch.  I firmly believe the athletic community needs deep tissue work, therapeutic massage.  Let me explain this. When I run, lift weights, bike ride and practicing yoga, I am building muscle.  In building muscle what is happening is we continually stress our muscles often causing Micro- tears within the muscle fibers as well as a build up of Lactic acid / waste products. Your Muscles need oxygen to function properly and efficiently, nutrients such as amino acids to repair damaged muscle fibers and lymphatic fluid carry waste away from the muscles. Oxygen, nutrients and lymphatic fluid are transported through your body via the blood stream.

Massage therapy markedly increases your body’s recovery rate by increasing blood flow within your circulatory system so Oxygen arrives faster to the area in need. Amino acids are delivered quickly and the waste products get moved rapidly away from the muscles.

Clients with medical injuries, football player’s at the colleges, runners, bikers, tennis players, weight lifters and all other repetitive sports cause muscles to contract in a relatively shortened range of motion for long periods of time. These tight muscles cause extra strain to be placed on tendons and may result in common injuries like Plantar Fasciitis, Achilles Tendentious, Iliotibial Band Syndrome and Shine Splints. Adhesions that form within the fascial connective tissue surrounding muscle fibers can also cause tightness.

Massage breaks up adhesions as well as broadens and lengthens muscle fibers. Freeing up fascia in and around muscles and creating length within muscles which helps prevent injury because it reduces the stain placed on the tendons. Staying healthy and preventing injury threw massage lead to improved athletic performance increasing range of motion in the hip, knee and ankle joints by releasing and lengthening leg muscles through Massage can increase stride length, which will, in- turn increase running speed and thus improve performance. Weather you run for stress relief, pure enjoyment or in competition, Massage Therapy can be extremely beneficial and will improve athletic performance. Call today to make an appointment and feel the difference. Office 609-683-1608

One thought on “About Your Massage Therapist And What They Should Know Too.

  1. Sue,

    Post something on your blog about your therapeutic approaches to back pain for us old farts and fogies who are suffering, lol! Great work!

Leave a Reply

